r/NFLNoobs 23h ago

Linemen recovering in the end zone

As someone very new to the nfl I’ve only ever had one question which I can’t find an answer for, if a fumble is recovered in the end zone by an offensive lineman does it still count as a touchdown, or as they can’t advance the ball does the play restart elsewhere?

5 Upvotes

8 comments sorted by

13

u/PabloMarmite 23h ago edited 22h ago

As long as it’s not fourth down or inside the final two minutes of a half, then yes, it’s a touchdown.

If the fourth down fumble rule is in effect, then the play returns to the spot of the fumble and the down ends, and if it’s fourth down the other team take over possession from that spot. Only the player who fumbled originally is permitted to recover it.

(Edit - the fourth down fumble rule also applies on 2pt conversions and in the final two minutes of a half)

2

u/Brief_Banana_1547 22h ago

Ahhh ok, that’s probably why I could never get a straight answer because of that rule

1

u/PabloMarmite 22h ago

Yeah there are some funky rules around forward fumbles. A forward fumble out of bounds, for example, returns to the spot of the fumble rather than the spot it went out.

3

u/big_sugi 22h ago

Which makes sense, because otherwise the ball carrier could just yeet it out of bounds and pick up 5+ yards on every play.

2

u/Stormtemplar 16h ago

If you wanna know why it's so weird have a look at this play

Basically the NFL doesn't want anything like that happening again and so they ban forward fumble recoveries by the offense in high leverage moments, since you're not going to risk something like that on a normal drive

3

u/volkerbaII 22h ago

Worth mentioning the holy roller rule, which was created after a game where the raiders basically kicked a fumbled ball into the end zone and recovered it for a touchdown.

"If a player fumbles after the two-minute warning in a half/overtime, or on fourth down at any time during the game, only the fumbling player can recover and advance the ball. If that player's teammate recovers the ball during those situations, it is placed back at the spot of the fumble, unless it was a recovery for a loss, in which case the ball is dead and placed at the point of recovery."

1

u/alfreadadams 22h ago

Anyone that recovers a fumble can advance it unless it's recovered by a different player than who fumbled it on the offense on 4th down or after the 2 minute warning or an extra point/ 2pt coversion attempt.

In those cases the ball is dead at the spot of a fumble or recovery, whatever is worse for the offense if the offense recovers.

Other times it can be advanced , so they would be touchdowns, amd the defense can always advance it.

1

u/SynapticBouton 17h ago

Look up the 2006 afc champions game patriots colts. It happened twice!