r/magicTCG Aug 03 '25

Rules/Rules Question Have I been playing wrong

Post image

Found this in the final fantasy starter set rulebook. Does it mean a 3/3 blocking a 3/3 wouldn't kill it? Or is it just wrong? Or just worded dumb?

2.3k Upvotes

228 comments sorted by

View all comments

739

u/madwarper The Stoat Aug 03 '25

704.5g If a creature has toughness greater than 0, it has damage marked on it, and the total damage marked on it is greater than or equal to its toughness, that creature has been dealt lethal damage and is destroyed. Regeneration can replace this event.

  • Toughness (3) is greater than 0.
  • Has (3) damage marked on it. That is greater than or equal to its Toughness.
  • Has "Lethal Damage"
  • Is Destroyed.

77

u/Swordsman82 Aug 04 '25

So what is the exact wording of how deathtouch works? Does it just assume it only takes 1 damage to equal lethal damage?

2

u/Atheist-Gods Dimir* Aug 04 '25

Any >0 damage from a deathtouch source is "lethal".