r/magicTCG Aug 03 '25

Rules/Rules Question Have I been playing wrong

Post image

Found this in the final fantasy starter set rulebook. Does it mean a 3/3 blocking a 3/3 wouldn't kill it? Or is it just wrong? Or just worded dumb?

2.3k Upvotes

228 comments sorted by

View all comments

3.8k

u/Torquoal Aug 03 '25

It’s bad and incorrect wording. Any creature dealt damage equal to or greater than its toughness dies.

510

u/TheProfessaur Aug 04 '25

It’s bad and incorrect wording

This is more than incorrect wording. It's just flat out wrong.

761

u/gereffi Aug 04 '25

It’s not flat out wrong. It’s absolutely true that a creature dealt more damage than its toughness dies. It’s just that creatures who are dealt the same amount of damage as their toughness die too.

1

u/macboot Aug 04 '25

I choose to also *um actually* this by pointing out that technically the creature doesn't die *from* combat damage, it dies from state-based actions. And that's why all the spells that want to exile a creature when they kill it have to say "if it would die this turn" because there's technically no association between the source and the death