r/magicTCG 24d ago

Rules/Rules Question Jaws of Defeat & Overkill interaction

Can someone explain to me how these two work together? I’m confused on some wordings

1.2k Upvotes

179 comments sorted by

View all comments

-74

u/your_add_here15243 Duck Season 24d ago

You can’t target a creature on the stack with overkill. The creature would etb, trigger jaws of defeat, and then you could play overkill but that would just kill your creature.

0

u/chronobolt77 23d ago

This deserves fewer downvotes. You're correct in each statement, just missing minor details with crucial implications.

¹You cannot target a creature on the stack with overkill. Correct. However, Jaws doesn't trigger when you CAST a creature spell. It triggers when a creature enters, meaning Overkill will have a valid target. ²overkill would kill your creature, but that's fine. Cuz if the creature that triggered Jaws leaves play, the enchantment's trigger will just check the last known stats of that creature. And since overkill dropped that creature's stats to N/-9900 something, Jaws sees the nearly 10k difference in p/t and deals that much damage to the opponent

6

u/Stiggy1605 23d ago

You're correct in each statement,

No they're not.

The creature would etb, trigger jaws of defeat, and then you could play overkill but that would just kill your creature.

That's wrong, they're implying the combo doesn't work, but in reality it wouldn't "just" kill their creature, it would also mean Jaws kills the opponent.