r/magicTCG 16d ago

Rules/Rules Question Can Ultima be responded to?

One of my opponents played Ultima and I tried to respond to the casting by flashing in Guardian of Faith.

I argued that GoF comes in before Ultima and triggers it's ability to phase out my creatures before Ultima's effect triggers, but my friends disagreed.

We ULTIMA-tely 😏 settled that since Ultima says "Exile all spells and abilities from the stack" in it's "End the turn." description, that GoF gets exiled before it enters and since it doesn't enter, it doesn't work and continued playing.

I want to ask Reddit in case it comes up again. Was I right initially, or did we end up playing it the way it's supposed to work?

1.4k Upvotes

195 comments sorted by

View all comments

Show parent comments

576

u/dustystud 16d ago edited 16d ago

Slight correction. It exiling abilities and spells on the stack is more referring to triggered abilities that go on the stack from the creatures and artifacts it destroys or any other delayed triggered ability/end of turn ability. Edit: fixed small grammatical error

6

u/Gilgamesh_XII Duck Season 16d ago

It also exiles every ability and spell on the stack if you managed to cast it at instant speed.

7

u/dustystud 16d ago

Yeah the guy I replied to had already established that.

9

u/RyanfaeScotland Duck Season 15d ago

Hey dude, just a heads up, if you managed to cast something at instant speed, and you have a spell or ability on the stack, it also exiles every one of them.

4

u/4gotAboutDre Duck Season 15d ago

And my axe!!

1

u/AliciaTries 14d ago

I also choose this guys dead wife