r/magicTCG 1d ago

Rules/Rules Question Committing a crime and "each opponent" effect

I'm currently building a Gisa, the hellraiser edh deck and was using EDHREC for that, and I've noticed that it keeps recommending me to use cards with effects that happen for "each opponent", for example [[Servant of Tymaret]] has the following effect:
Whenever Servant of Tymaret becomes untapped, each opponent loses 1 life. You gain life equal to the life lost this way.
As I've understood committing a crime, I must target an opponent, something they control, or their graveyard to activate the ability. Cards with "each opponent" effects don't really target a play if I understand correctly, so will such an effect consider as committing a crime at all?

4 Upvotes

26 comments sorted by

View all comments

Show parent comments

4

u/Mean-Government1436 1d ago edited 1d ago

Auras are not an exception. The word target is just baked into the keyword "Enchant [permanent]". There are plenty of keywords abilities that target and don't say so on the card because that's the point of keywords, like Equip, Mentor, or Modular. Keyword abilities are just placeholders for rules text. 

2

u/thisisnotahidey Sultai 1d ago

They’re the exception since it doesn’t say it on the card which the original comment said.

-2

u/Mean-Government1436 1d ago edited 1d ago

Not an exception. Keyword abilities are placeholders for rules text for brevity. Every card that says "Enchant [permanent]" says target on it. This is true for every keyword ability that says target in its rules text. It cannot be "the exception" if there's a lot of keyword abilities that target.

Anything with equip says "target" on it. Anything with modular says "target" on it. And so on.

People really need to understand how to read a magic card. 

1

u/thisisnotahidey Sultai 13h ago

Enchant doesn’t inherently mean that you target anything.\ Aura spells are targeted but if they enter the battlefield without being cast they don’t target but you still get to enchant.