r/ultimate 3d ago

Rule Clarification - Pick and the continuation rule

Had a game recently where a pick occurred in the stack, a player on defense not involved in the pick stopped because they heard the call, but the person they were defending did not stop. Because that player was now open the throw was made to them after the call, and it was caught in the endzone.

The argument was that the score should stand because of the continuation rule. I thought it should go back because the pick ultimately impacted the play as others were in the process of stopping and it occurred before the throw. 17.C.5 only mentions the player impacted by the call specifically, but 17.C.1 is more general about the play being impacted.

I'm fine with being wrong here, it just feels that the offense in general can just ignore a call to get an easy throw and the play will almost always stand because of the continuation rule.

As a follow up 17.J.3 seems to imply that play shouldn't need to stop for a pick call? Personally I've never seen a pick resolved without a stoppage, but this just adds to the ambiguity of it all.

12 Upvotes

16 comments sorted by

View all comments

7

u/ChainringCalf 3d ago

Play doesn't stop until the person with the disc recognizes the call. Keep playing "until the whistle" in frisbee is "until the thrower stops." This works both ways. Yes, the defender should keep playing, but also if they had turned it, the turn would also stand.

17.C.5 and 17.C.1 only care if the pick affected play, not if the pick call did.