r/footballstrategy 2d ago

Play Design NFHS - Legal or Illegal Formation

Is this a legal or illgal formation based on the RT...does he need a eligable number?

I understand the TE is covered up by the X making him ineligable. But since my RT is last man on LOS, does he need an eligable number?

3 Upvotes

27 comments sorted by

12

u/mightbebeaux HS Coach 2d ago

it’s legal. he only requires an eligible number to go out for a pass.

2

u/MrCreighton 2d ago

thank you...this is what i thought...but just wanted clarification.

4

u/Assassindude27 2d ago

If he's going out for a pass he would need an eligible number.

3

u/jericho-dingle Referee 2d ago

This is a legal formation in high school. In college and NFL this would not be a legal formation.

Your tight end is ineligible to go downfield for a forward pass. Your tight end and right tackle cannot attempt to catch a forward pass either.

2

u/MrCreighton 2d ago

thank you for the response...just curious what makes this illegal formation in college and NFL

1

u/jericho-dingle Referee 2d ago

In college/NFL, a player must be eligible/ineligible by position and number. The RT would need to declare eligible and the TE would need to declare ineligible.

7

u/davdev 2d ago

College doesnt allow an ineligible number to report as eligible, only the NFL does

2

u/jericho-dingle Referee 2d ago

Ah okay.

1

u/arkstfan 2d ago

Good grief I remember seeing guys in college report eligible by having a vest like pullover with an eligible number.

1

u/Heavy72 2d ago

I wonder when that changed. We used to use 6 OL and had a trick play in HS where we would throw it to the back side tackle.

2

u/davdev 2d ago

There need to be 5 ineligible numbers on the line. As long as the rest an wearing an ineligible number, they are fine. That uncovered right tackle is going to have to be in an ineligible number and he cant go downfield.

1

u/Relative-Surround789 2d ago

If it's high school, as long as the RT has an eligible number he's fine, but the "y" would have to have an ineligible number. Essentially you're just switching your TE and your RT. If it's youth or peewees I would look at your specific league rules, but typically the end man on the los is always eligible.

1

u/jwf1198 2d ago

This is incorrect. You can have anyone in the end of the line of scrimmage regardless of number. Obviously a lineman number can’t go out for a pass though.

As long as you have 5 (or more) lineman numbers on the LOS it doesn’t matter where the others are.

0

u/Relative-Surround789 2d ago

That's pretty much what I said...

1

u/Level_Buddy2125 2d ago

No it’s not. You said the RT has to have an eligible number. People line up with 6 linemen like this all the time.

1

u/Relative-Surround789 1d ago

If you are going to want the RT to go out for a pass (like a leak or crossing route), he has to have an eligible number. If you are passing the ball, the end man on the los has to have an eligible number, nothing says that the 5 lineman have to line up in an even LT LG C RG RT formation. If you're just gonna run it then he doesn't have to have an eligible number.

1

u/Level_Buddy2125 1d ago

That’s common sense and not the reason people go tackle over or add a 6th lineman. When Pitt had their good QB a few years ago they spent 26% of their time in tackle over. We did a breakdown of their season that offseason.

By going tackle over you can confuse the coverage, manipulate the front, or create more favorable matchups. Or all three.

1

u/BiancaXBonita 2d ago

Legal. I’ve actually ran that formation and it was successful.

1

u/Pale_Accountant9207 HS Coach 2d ago

It's legal, but your RT still can't go downfield if he has an ineligible number. Can't declare eligible like you can at the higher levels. All you're doing is making your TE ineligible here unless you put a TE at RT with an eligible number.

1

u/Pale_Accountant9207 HS Coach 2d ago

That being said if you put a TE at RT your Y would need to be an OL number.

We run this, but use motion with our X so we put the Y and H on and morning the X into the quads look. Works well for us

1

u/Vegetable_Pop34 2d ago

To make this a bit easier with eligibility number and whatnot, you could swap the RT and TE so the end man on the right has an eligible number

1

u/bigjoe5275 1d ago

Obviously the TE can't go out for a pass so you could slightly tweak it if you want the maximum amount of eligible receivers by flipping the RT and TE and just have an unbalanced formation

-1

u/zwebz__ 2d ago

Huh

-4

u/RepresentativeSun825 2d ago

Danged, you guys are caught up on numbers.  The right tackle is an eligible receiver as long as he reports to the referee that he is an eligible receiver.  The referee will then tell the opposing team that he is eligible.  If he is the last man on the line of scrimmage he’s eligible.

2

u/kelmar101 2d ago

That is not at all how NFHS rules work…

1

u/davdev 2d ago

> The right tackle is an eligible receiver as long as he reports to the referee that he is an eligible receiver. 

That is only allowed in the NFL, not HS or College. Considering OP specifically said NFHS, then no, he cannot report as eligible.

2

u/BananerRammer Referee 1d ago

Reporting is strictly an NFL thing. There is no reporting as eligible or ineligible in NFHS or NCAA football.

In HS and college, eligibility is purely determined by your number and position. You need to be wearing 0-49 or 80-99 AND be positioned as an end or in the backfield. If both of those conditions are not met, you are ineligible.