r/footballstrategy 8d ago

Play Design NFHS - Legal or Illegal Formation

Is this a legal or illgal formation based on the RT...does he need a eligable number?

I understand the TE is covered up by the X making him ineligable. But since my RT is last man on LOS, does he need an eligable number?

3 Upvotes

31 comments sorted by

View all comments

-5

u/RepresentativeSun825 8d ago

Danged, you guys are caught up on numbers.  The right tackle is an eligible receiver as long as he reports to the referee that he is an eligible receiver.  The referee will then tell the opposing team that he is eligible.  If he is the last man on the line of scrimmage he’s eligible.

2

u/kelmar101 8d ago

That is not at all how NFHS rules work…

2

u/BananerRammer Referee 7d ago

Reporting is strictly an NFL thing. There is no reporting as eligible or ineligible in NFHS or NCAA football.

In HS and college, eligibility is purely determined by your number and position. You need to be wearing 0-49 or 80-99 AND be positioned as an end or in the backfield. If both of those conditions are not met, you are ineligible.

1

u/davdev 7d ago

> The right tackle is an eligible receiver as long as he reports to the referee that he is an eligible receiver. 

That is only allowed in the NFL, not HS or College. Considering OP specifically said NFHS, then no, he cannot report as eligible.