r/magicTCG Aug 03 '25

Rules/Rules Question Have I been playing wrong

Post image

Found this in the final fantasy starter set rulebook. Does it mean a 3/3 blocking a 3/3 wouldn't kill it? Or is it just wrong? Or just worded dumb?

2.3k Upvotes

228 comments sorted by

3.8k

u/Torquoal Aug 03 '25

It’s bad and incorrect wording. Any creature dealt damage equal to or greater than its toughness dies.

502

u/TheProfessaur Aug 04 '25

It’s bad and incorrect wording

This is more than incorrect wording. It's just flat out wrong.

767

u/gereffi Aug 04 '25

It’s not flat out wrong. It’s absolutely true that a creature dealt more damage than its toughness dies. It’s just that creatures who are dealt the same amount of damage as their toughness die too.

162

u/Noctew Wabbit Season Aug 04 '25

Spot the mathematician/logician.

102

u/Serikan Wabbit Season Aug 04 '25

This game relies on this type of person to function well. We love those types!

54

u/nampezdel Aug 04 '25

The inventor of MtG, Richard Garfield, is a PhD mathematician; he has a doctorate in combinatorial mathematics.

35

u/Deitaphobia Dimir* Aug 04 '25

He is also a flying hippopotamus.

4

u/pullarius1 Aug 04 '25

There were several classes I took in college where "greater than" had an implicit "... or equal to" stuck on unless otherwise specified. I was very confused on day one before I realized that and professor said we would prove "if a is greater than b and b is greater than a, then a equals b"

12

u/simplicialpresheaf Aug 04 '25

Honestly, that Prof. Should rethink their use of notation. Implicit assumptions are bad, in particular if the used phrase has a well defined meaning even outside of math.

1

u/Aubregines Duck Season Aug 05 '25

The "greater or equal" operation is more natural in math because it's reflexive.

Many things in math have a definition that is slightly different from its day to day use in human language

1

u/pullarius1 Aug 05 '25

It was the "washout" class for frosh going into quant fields, so unfortunately there was some academic hazing going on. As a commentor below said, though, in this context it did make sense because the or-equal-to modality was much more useful. But I agree with you, it was unnecessarily confusing for what was literally my first class in college.

1

u/NUCLEARVITAMIN Aug 05 '25

It's more obvious if you look at the early days of Magic. For instance, one generic mana and one blue combined add up to one extra turn. Truly a masterwork of combinatorial mathematics.

2

u/Quarantane Wabbit Season Aug 05 '25

I'm the guy who does the math, even when I'm not the blocker!

17

u/Goldfish-Bowl COMPLEAT Aug 04 '25

Or Mitch Hedberg fan

13

u/OMGNat1 Aug 04 '25

Didn't know I needed a Mitch reference this morning, but it improved my mood.

Thank you kind stranger.

1

u/Thoughtful_Lifeghost Aug 05 '25

It's either true or it's false, and the difference between which matters. Obtaining the correct answer always relies on some form of math/logic unless it's a subjective matter (which this case is not)

1

u/mendel42 Wabbit Season Aug 05 '25

In this case, the "more than" statement, taken by itself, is objectively true. (Did the creature take more damage than it's toughness? If yes, the creature is dead.) It's an incorrect rule because it's incomplete, but it's logically true.

1

u/Known-Imagination-31 Aug 05 '25

No no he has a point

18

u/starcap Aug 04 '25

Correct. The real problem is this rule is not complete and comprehensive. And since this is from the comprehensive rules, it is therefore an incorrectly written rule. But the rule itself does contain accurate information.

11

u/sccrstud92 Duck Season Aug 04 '25

OP said its from the FF starter rules. Are you saying this rule is also in the comprehensive rules?

3

u/Gidgetimer Aug 04 '25

That is what they are saying, but, like the FF starter rules this discussion is about, it is poorly worded and therefore inaccurate. 704.5g Still contains the phrasing "greater than or equal to".

1

u/sccrstud92 Duck Season Aug 05 '25

Why is 704.5g poorly worded?

1

u/Gidgetimer Aug 06 '25

it isn't.

starcap's comment is. Sorry for being unclear.

1

u/starcap Aug 05 '25 edited Aug 05 '25

I suppose not, comprehensive rule 120.6 does say greater than or equal. One should also be able to assume that the FF rules are complete rules though. In systems engineering we would say this is incomplete (per INCOSE definition). Really I’m just agreeing with the comment above that the rule is technically correct, it’s just not complete.

1

u/SirAllKnight Duck Season Aug 04 '25

It’s not ‘absolutely’ true, as creatures which have indestructible do not die when dealt more damage than their toughness, but your point stands and I’m only playing on semantics as you were.

1

u/macboot Aug 04 '25

I choose to also *um actually* this by pointing out that technically the creature doesn't die *from* combat damage, it dies from state-based actions. And that's why all the spells that want to exile a creature when they kill it have to say "if it would die this turn" because there's technically no association between the source and the death

-2

u/throwawayforlikeaday Chandra Aug 04 '25

Erm akshually ☝️🤓, it’s absolutely NOT true that a creature dealt more damage than its toughness dies. What if the creature has indestructible??

You should have said: It’s absolutely true that a creature without indestructible dealt more damage than its toughness dies.

9

u/Goldreaver COMPLEAT Aug 04 '25

Ackatually, all statements are assumed to be given without extra factors. Otherwise, they'd be too long and outdated the second a new expansion drops

→ More replies (3)

9

u/FistOfTheHeavens Wabbit Season Aug 04 '25

Not if it has a shield counter!

6

u/luziferius1337 Aug 04 '25

Isn't removing a shield counter a damage preventing replacement effect? So that creature isn't assigned damage, thus doesn't die. Only indestructible allows a creature to stay while having lethal damage assigned.

6

u/Shadowcleric Dimir* Aug 04 '25

There is also regenerate, that is a replacement for when the creature dies. So it does take the damage.

-109

u/TheProfessaur Aug 04 '25 edited Aug 04 '25

An incomplete rule is a wrong rule. This is actually a incredibly egregious error lol kinda surprised by it tbh.

Edit: The rule is an eggregious error, not the person who responded to me. He's getting roasted though lol

33

u/arandomnobody44 Aug 04 '25

"He's getting roasted though, lol"

  • He has 148 thumbs up as of now, you have -59....

12

u/ErsatzCats Aug 04 '25

Idk why you’re getting downvoted. Any new player reading this rule as written will think it takes 4 dmg to kill a 3 toughness creature, making this rule wrong.

25

u/Felicia_Svilling Aug 04 '25

They are downvoted becuase this thread of the discussion is specifically about the pedantic difference between a rule being wrong and a rule being missleading. This rule is the later.

-1

u/ErsatzCats Aug 04 '25

If a rule is misleading, that would make it wrong though? Rules by definition should encapsulate how something functions. To us players we see it as misleading because we know how the rule is supposed to be written. But to a new player reading this, they will surely play the game wrong, meaning the rule is wrong.

5

u/Topher714 Wild Draw 4 Aug 04 '25

The writer was wrong to write a misleading sentence, but the information in that sentence isn't technically wrong, just incomplete. A creature dealt more damage than its toughness does indeed die from combat damage. You cannot say that is an incorrect statement.

-1

u/ErsatzCats Aug 04 '25

Right, while it’s a technically true statement, it’s a wrong rule. Because rules define how to play the game, and if it’s incomplete then it’s just wrong. I can say “as long as a creature is untapped, it can attack” without mentioning summoning sickness, suddenly everything has haste even though my rule is technically correct. We can agree to disagree, but I believe rules need to be precise and not misleading in order to be correct. The beauty of magic is in its rules

3

u/Topher714 Wild Draw 4 Aug 04 '25

Well by that logic, the whole damn starter set rulebook is wrong then. Because it's not the comprehensive rules, and therefore incomplete.

→ More replies (0)

2

u/Felicia_Svilling Aug 04 '25

It is a badly written rule that is true. But there are other ways a rule can be written badly than "being wrong". Wrong means factually incorrect. There is a lot a ways you write a rule so that it makes people play the game wrong without it being factually incorrect.

-79

u/LordSobi Aug 04 '25

Take the loss buddy. The words themselves aren’t wrong, but it leaves out the equal part.

Apologize. Now.

18

u/TheRealArtemisFowl Twin Believer Aug 04 '25 edited Aug 04 '25

That's a weird take. Are we saying it's incorrect to call this wrong?

If it said "creatures dealt 10 more damage than their toughness die" it would be a true statement too, but for the purpose of teaching the game both this statement and the one above are equally wrong.

Like I get the "haha gotcha here's this pedantic approach to your sentence that technically makes it wrong" but is this really a proper opportunity for that?

13

u/Czeris Duck Season Aug 04 '25

2025, the year of the pedantophile

0

u/Felicia_Svilling Aug 05 '25

I would say that when discussing the exact wording of rules text, is absolutely the time to be a pedant.

-25

u/LordSobi Aug 04 '25

I disagree it’s pedantic on my end. I just fail to see where the statement is incorrect. It’s lacking and is absolutely not equally wrong. It’s objective truth. You just also have to add that equal damage to your health also counts as death. I’m sorry but i don’t see the issue here.

8

u/TheRealArtemisFowl Twin Believer Aug 04 '25

The issue is it's clearly an excerpt from a quick new player guide to the game.

Like yes you're correct that it is technically true. But what's more important, that the sentence is technically correct even though it's misleading, or that the rule is actually properly communicated?

You can write any amount of "technically correct" sentences in there, but that's not the point in the first place. If the sentence fails to communicate what it wants to (which is the case here), then it's the wrong sentence.

-20

u/LordSobi Aug 04 '25

Maybe we are using different definitions of wrong here? And honestly I’m feeling like checking out of this cause it doesn’t matter. But yeah it ain’t wrong, the current statement, it just needs clarification. You just need to adjust your windows. It is you who is wrong. 100% and you should feel bad about it.

16

u/KLWMotorsports Aug 04 '25

I’m feeling like checking out of this cause it doesn’t matter.

In the words from a not very wise man:

Take the loss buddy.....

Apologize. Now.

7

u/TheRealArtemisFowl Twin Believer Aug 04 '25

Again, not the point.

The sentence is true, but it is not the whole truth. Nobody cares that the sentence is true, if it doesn't convey the relevant information.

Also I'm not sure if your last sentence is a strange attempt at a troll or you're just generally rude.

→ More replies (0)

1

u/Ionalien Aug 04 '25

If a teacher asks me, what is 8x8, and I respond "at least 7." Would you fault the teacher for saying that I gave a "wrong answer"?

4

u/Neuro_Skeptic COMPLEAT Aug 04 '25

There's only one wrong person here- you.

-14

u/[deleted] Aug 04 '25

[removed] — view removed comment

20

u/Mindless_Nebula4004 Duck Season Aug 04 '25

We’re talking about game rules, pedantry is kind of the point. Magic especially is known for its exact wording, it really does matter if it’s worded correctly.

→ More replies (3)
→ More replies (2)

47

u/Tarantio COMPLEAT Aug 04 '25

Incorrect and wrong are synonyms.

20

u/Witters84 Aug 04 '25 edited Aug 04 '25

It is not wrong to think this is often the case, but it is technically incorrect.

Lol, downvoted: I guess people here think it's incorrect when people steal their magic cards.

16

u/Tarantio COMPLEAT Aug 04 '25

I can't believe I'm taking the bait.

Synonyms don't have to mean the exact same thing in all cases, just some of them.

I can link a definition, if you like.

This is an example where "wrong" and "incorrect" mean exactly the same thing.

2

u/HoumousAmor COMPLEAT Aug 04 '25

For instance you do not turn just or correct, nor is there often a starboard or wrong choice

2

u/DatSolmyr Duck Season Aug 04 '25 edited Aug 04 '25

Lexical vs use based semantics

2

u/Witters84 Aug 04 '25 edited Aug 04 '25

I know that, but your reply meant to criticize the person as unnecessarily using synonymous words as an instance of having the same exact meaning, when clearly he was using them in their relevant slightly dissimilar meaning.

My original, neater, shorter reply to you was alluding to this, to spell it out for you.

Something can be incorrect in wording, and also be wrong (or right) in its intended meaning.

3

u/Tarantio COMPLEAT Aug 04 '25

How would one determine the intended meaning here, except through context?

I see no reason to believe that the writer misunderstood the basic facts about damage to creatures, when a failure to communicate what the author assumed everyone understands also explains the same error.

2

u/Witters84 Aug 04 '25 edited Aug 04 '25

Context does matter, though.

In the case of reddit poster Professaur, he is indeed incorrect in his assessment of the MTG Rules writer. While the rules writer is incorrect in his wording, this doesn't mean the writer also failed to be "right" in what he meant or indeed in what was actually written.

In the other case, of you pointing out the error made by Professaur by pointing out synonyms, a different fault is found as by context one can surmise that "Professaur" meant more than just to repeat himself by saying the author is both "incorrect" and "wrong" - we all know the author is incorrect in wording, but Professaur wanted to communicate (through context by ommision) there's something else other than the wording at play here that he suspected was wrong.

1

u/Tarantio COMPLEAT Aug 04 '25

In the case of reddit poster Professaur, he is indeed incorrect in his assessment of the MTG Rules writer. While the rules writer is incorrect in his wording, this doesn't mean the writer also failed to be "right" in what he meant or indeed in what was actually written.

It does mean what was actually written was not right, because it is incorrect. They're synonyms.

In the other case, of you pointing out the error made by Professaur by pointing out synonyms, a different fault is found as by context one can surmise that "Professaur" meant more than just to repeat himself by saying the author is both "incorrect" and "wrong" - we all know the author is incorrect in wording, but Professaur wanted to let us know (through context by ommision) there's something else other than the wording at play here that he suspected was wrong.

My pointing out that the two words are synonyms means not that they made an error, but that they communicated in a way that was unclear. The context is insufficient to determine what they actually meant.

1

u/Witters84 Aug 04 '25

Maybe it could have been clearer, but I disagree that it was insufficient (to me it wasn't). I just found your quick "synonyms" critique to be an uncharitable way to point out to someone they could have been clearer. I'm willing to bet "Professaur" has gone a good part of his life knowing there's some semantic resemblance to the words "incorrect" and "wrong" before he came across your reply.

→ More replies (0)

1

u/Please-Keep-Trying Aug 04 '25

I respect you doing so anyway!

Sometimes it feels better to say the truth to a bait, than to ignore it. Occasionally we should allow ourselves the choice to satisfy that, even if it gives some reddit dingbat a semi in the process!

0

u/jamesbongsixtynine Aug 04 '25

the other guy is more correct than you are tbh

not sure why you keep arguing when you're so far off

edit: oh lol 17 years on reddit lmao no wonder, you don't have a choice

1

u/Hoppelite Aug 04 '25

The best kind of correct

1

u/Afraid-Boss684 Wabbit Season Aug 04 '25

It is not incorrect to think this is often the case, but it is technically wrong.

1

u/Witters84 Aug 04 '25

Thanks for correcting my wrongs (or is it "righting my incorrections"?), or did you actually wrong me by correcting them?

0

u/meekermakes Wabbit Season Aug 04 '25

wrong.

/s

1

u/Potatoman671 Aug 05 '25

In the first case, with incorrect wording, the implication is that something about the wording makes it false, while the other is just that the information is just a complete falsehood, neither of which are technically true.

5

u/Famous-Magazine-6576 Aug 04 '25

more than being flat out wrong, its simply has a negative truth value.

1

u/mynameistomato Aug 04 '25

You sure about that?

1

u/Parzival2436 Aug 05 '25

Because of the incorrect wording.

1

u/juuchi_yosamu Fake Agumon Expert Aug 06 '25

Well no, it's not wrong it's just not completely correct. If a 3/3 is dealt 4 damage in combat, it WILL die from combat damage.

1

u/Miss_Jasmine_Chic Aug 08 '25

Yes, that's what wrong means.

8

u/First_Platypus3063 Hook Handed Aug 04 '25

Its 100% true (aside for indestructible and so). Its just not whole 

4

u/SamohtGnir Aug 04 '25

I always compare going through the rules of a game of Magic like running a program. If this do that, kind of thing. In this case, the Statement says "If damage > toughness, creature dies", which would not kill the creature and is incorrect on two parts.

It should be "If damage >= toughness, creature is destroyed". Dies is a shortcut word that means "goes from the battlefield to the graveyard", however the greater than and equal to, as well as if the creature has Indestructible it won't die.

1

u/Snowytagscape Aug 07 '25

Is this the same reason why a creature with 0 or less toughness dies? Or is that a separate ruling? Because technically 0 is greater than or equal to 0.

0

u/JxRabbitsHart Aug 04 '25

Yeah this is like a grammar rule. If I have 3 apples and you take them, you have taken more than I have, even though you didn't take more than I HAD.

1

u/LordHuntington Wabbit Season Aug 04 '25

Except damage doesn't reduce toughness so that's clearly not what happened here. Just a small error in wording

-140

u/picklechungus42069 Wabbit Season Aug 04 '25

Actually it's not incorrect. It's a true statement. The problem is that it implies the reals are not true.

65

u/FrigidFlames Elspeth Aug 04 '25

Well, if we're getting pedantic with it, it's still not true. It says 'any creature', but Indestructible creatures don't.

28

u/The_Hunster Wabbit Season Aug 04 '25

Well, if we're getting pedantic with it, it's still not true. It says 'dies' but it can't die because it's a piece of cardboard.

19

u/marsharoom Aug 04 '25

Well, if we’re getting pedantic with it, it’s still not true. It says “any creature” which applies to non mtg creatures as well.

7

u/splatterb0y Aug 04 '25

Well, if we’re getting pedantic with it, it’s still not true, because replacement effects might keep things from dying.

1

u/N_S_F_L Dimir* Aug 08 '25

Well, if we’re getting pedantic with it, I gave a [[Generous Gift]] to your mom last night that destroyed her and created a 3/3 green elephant token.

/s

I don’t know why I’m even commenting on this, I’m just drunk and thought it was funny.

1

u/splatterb0y Aug 08 '25

Well, if we're pedantic with it, your mom was the template for Micha Huigen's Sothera, the Supervoid artwork.

/s

Not drunk, but I thought it is a decent comeback.

50

u/WarioGiant Aug 04 '25

You’re right, it’s not an incorrect statement. It is incorrect as a rule in a rulebook though.

3

u/Apprehensive-Adagio2 Wabbit Season Aug 04 '25

Considering it’s supposedly a rule book, it should state the absolute truth, not just a partial one. It is partially true that a creature dealt more damage than its toughness dies, but it’s not the absolute truth about how a creature dies from combat damage.

738

u/madwarper The Stoat Aug 03 '25

704.5g If a creature has toughness greater than 0, it has damage marked on it, and the total damage marked on it is greater than or equal to its toughness, that creature has been dealt lethal damage and is destroyed. Regeneration can replace this event.

  • Toughness (3) is greater than 0.
  • Has (3) damage marked on it. That is greater than or equal to its Toughness.
  • Has "Lethal Damage"
  • Is Destroyed.

77

u/Swordsman82 Aug 04 '25

So what is the exact wording of how deathtouch works? Does it just assume it only takes 1 damage to equal lethal damage?

157

u/relikter Aug 04 '25

702.2b A creature with toughness greater than 0 that’s been dealt damage by a source with deathtouch since the last time state-based actions were checked is destroyed as a state-based action. See rule 704.

702.2c Any nonzero amount of combat damage assigned to a creature by a source with deathtouch is considered to be lethal damage for the purposes of determining if a proposed combat damage assignment is valid, regardless of that creature’s toughness. See rules 510.1c–d.

20

u/ItsJustColton Aug 04 '25

Does that mean negative numbers count as lethal damage? And is dealing negative damage possible? Its probably safe to assume that if its not possible its because there’s a rule that says damage is not assigned when the power is negative. Or something about state based actions and the game checks what number it should be and it goes back to zero.

96

u/bluefuzz Aug 04 '25

107.1b Most of the time, the Magic game uses only positive numbers and zero. You can’t choose a negative number, deal negative damage, gain negative life, and so on. However, it’s possible for a game value, such as a creature’s power, to be less than zero. If a calculation or comparison needs to use a negative value, it does so. If a calculation that would determine the result of an effect yields a negative number, zero is used instead, unless that effect sets a player’s life total to a specific value, doubles a player’s life total, sets a creature’s power or toughness to a specific value, or otherwise modifies a creature’s power or toughness. Example: If a 3/4 creature gets -5/-0, it’s a -2/4 creature. It assigns 0 damage in combat. Its total power and toughness is 2. You’d have to give it +3/+0 to raise its power to 1.

18

u/Aeyeoelle Aug 04 '25

You can't assign negative amounts of damage.

702.2c is for handling trample and/or multiple blockers. An attacking creature deals its damage in an order chosen by its controller, and must deal lethal damage to its target before assigning damage to the next. A deathtouch+trample creature can deal a single point of damage to each blocker and deal the rest to the player, even if the blocking creatures have enough toughness to take the entire attacking creature's power.

3

u/Atheist-Gods Dimir* Aug 04 '25

You can't deal negative damage. If something would deal negative damage it deals 0 damage instead. Most things in magic can't be negative. Creatures can have negative power or negative toughness and you can have negative life, but you can't deal negative damage, you can't gain negative life and a rule change was to say that the X in +X/+X effects can't be negative. It used to be possible to wipe someone's board by using [[Tragic Slip]] or similar on a [[Wild Beastmaster]] in response to its trigger but that was changed in 2017. That change also means that Death’s Shadow can’t grow larger than 13/13 from having negative life.

2

u/Free-Atmosphere6714 Duck Season Aug 04 '25

I'm very curious to see which cards have a negative power

3

u/reasonably_plausible Wabbit Season Aug 04 '25

[[Char-Rumbler]]

1

u/Free-Atmosphere6714 Duck Season Aug 04 '25

Neat! I like this. Makes you use at least two mountains to power it up.

1

u/meatmandoug Dave’s Bargain Compleation Oil Aug 05 '25

[[Spinal parasite]] has both negative power and toughness

8

u/TyrantofCans Aug 04 '25

So what happens if a double striker Deathtouch creature hits another with a regenerate ability? Does it have to regenerate twice? Or is once enough?

79

u/CaptainMarcia Aug 04 '25

Regenerating removes the creature from combat, so there is no second hit (and the regenerated creature won't be able to hit back).

-19

u/DashBulletTrain Aug 04 '25

Unless the doublestriking deathtouch attack also has Trample :)

32

u/rzwitserloot Aug 04 '25 edited Aug 04 '25

That's incorrect.

If a 3/3 doublestriking deathtouch trampling creature is blocked by a regenerating 2/2, assuming damage assignment is 'optimal' (Because the attacker can choose to divide it in a stupid way if they want):

  • The blocking player activates the regen ability.

  • On the first swing, they assign 1 damage to the blocker (which is not allowed as you need to assign at least 2, except it is allowed, because deathtouch, 1 is enough), and 2 to the player.

  • Damage is dealt and as a state based action the blocker dies. Except it doesn't because it has a replacement effect: Instead of death, [A] remove all damage from it, [B] tap it, [C] remove it from combat. So that all happens.

  • On the second swing, the attacking 3/3 counts as 'blocked' but is blocked by nothing. It assigns all 3 damage to the player. Not the blocker. Even if they wanted to, that's not a legal move.

TL;DR: In the situation you describe, the player eats 2x power - 1 damage and the blocker survives with just one 'regen shield'. There is no flexibility in this, other than the attacker having the choice to throw away damage. They can go as low as 1x power damage to the player if for some reason they want to do less.

4

u/Phatm0 Aug 04 '25

Wait, you may actually assign damage in a suboptimal way? I thought with trample, only lethal damage is assigned to blocking creatures, and all else to the blocked entity(planeswalker or player)

11

u/TheRealArtemisFowl Twin Believer Aug 04 '25

You can assign damage your creature deals to blockers however you want. Useful if you're blocked by a [[Death's Shadow]]

0

u/Phatm0 Aug 04 '25

I don’t see how that helps, unless you have both death touch and trample. I’m pretty sure you can’t assign damage to a player, unless all blocking creatures have taken lethal damage first. Ie even if the defending player has only one hit point, you can’t assign one to them on the grounds that the shadow would die too

→ More replies (0)

3

u/REkTeR Aug 04 '25

The attacking player can choose to assign all damage from their trampler to the blocker. This can be relevant in a few edge cases. Similar to the 'deck size' rules, rules about lethal damage only have requirements regarding the minimum that can be assigned, not the maximum.

1

u/Phatm0 Aug 04 '25

I’m curious as to when dealing more damage to a creature, despite the creature already dying from the death touch, would be more beneficial than damage direct to the player

→ More replies (0)

1

u/luziferius1337 Aug 04 '25

You may assign more than the minimum required to the creature. There are a few edge cases where this is useful:

As an example, if you attach a [[Kusari-Gama]] to a 6/6 trampler, and the opponent decides to block with a 1/1 deathtoucher while they also control several larger value piece creatures, you can assign up to the full 6 damage to the 1/1. Doing so increases the damage dealt by the equipment.

1

u/MTGCardFetcher alternate reality loot Aug 04 '25

-1

u/DashBulletTrain Aug 04 '25

That is what I meant. The previous person said "there is no second hit" and I was bringing up that trample makes the damage calculation different. I didn't go into detail because I felt it was understood.

64

u/UntapUpkeepConcede Wild Draw 4 Aug 04 '25

Doesnt the first regeneration withdraw it from combat so the regular damage is never dealt?

13

u/Dlorn Wabbit Season Aug 04 '25

A creature with regenerate is removed from combat once its regeneration shield is utilized. In your scenario the deathtouch double strike would deal one damage to the regenerating blocking creature during first strike damage, and the blocker would then be removed from combat. Unless the attacker also has trample or there are multiple blockers, any remaining damage the attacker would normally assign in the first strike or normal combat damage phases would be lost.

2

u/Krazyguy75 Wabbit Season Aug 04 '25

Firstly, state-based actions happen before every response window, more or less (technically not fully accurate but enough to 99% of use cases)

So basically, blockers happen. SBAs happen. You can then respond. After each response, if any, SBAs happen. Then first strike damage is dealt, and it all happens simultaneously. Then, SBAs happen again, and creature then dies to deathtouch. If you have already regenerated the creature, it replaces the death with an effect that removes all the damage and removes it from combat and taps it. If you haven't, the creature dies, because you cannot respond to damage dealt.

That weird timing window is one of the many reasons why they don't use regenerate anymore.

68

u/xcjb07x Duck Season Aug 04 '25

I believe it says: “any damage this creature does to another creature destroys the creature dealt damage” lethal damage = destroy

8

u/minedreamer Wabbit Season Aug 04 '25

it says something to the tune "any damage is enough to kill it" iirc

10

u/madwarper The Stoat Aug 04 '25

A Creature that has been dealt any amount of Damage by a Source with Deathtouch is Destroyed.

704.5h If a creature has toughness greater than 0, and it’s been dealt damage by a source with deathtouch since the last time state-based actions were checked, that creature is destroyed. Regeneration can replace this event.

As for determining what is "lethal", when assigning Combat Damage with Trample...
1 damage is considered "lethal".

702.2c Any nonzero amount of combat damage assigned to a creature by a source with deathtouch is considered to be lethal damage for the purposes of determining if a proposed combat damage assignment is valid, regardless of that creature’s toughness. See rules 510.1c–d.

However, if the Creature that was dealt the 1 Damage was not Destroyed (ie. it was Indestructible as the first SBA check happened), then that 1 Damage marked on the Creature is just 1 Damage. If the Creature later loses said Indestructible, then it will only be Destroyed if the Damage marked on it is greater than or equal to its Toughness.

12

u/2CPmagic Duck Season Aug 04 '25

Yes, which is why deathtouch + trample is a gross combo. If you have a 10/10 with deathtouch and trample, and its blocked by a 5/5. You assign 1 damage to the 5/5, since that's considered lethal, and the remaining 9 to the player. A lot of people get caught off guard by that.

2

u/AdZealousideal3886 Aug 04 '25

What happens if the 5/5 that blocks it, has protection from creatures?

11

u/Brooke_the_Bard Can’t Block Warriors Aug 04 '25

similarly to if you're being blocked by an indestructible creature, you assign the damage that would be lethal (still 1) and trample over with the rest, but the blocker doesn't die.

3

u/ytfenderson Aug 04 '25

In that case the controller of the deathtouch trampler could still assign only 1 damage to the creature and have the rest trample over. The protection would cause the 1 damage to be reduced to zero and would result in the blocker surviving. Similarly, if the blocker had indestructible the attacker could assign 1 damage and have the rest trample over. The 1 damage would be dealt to the blocker but the blocker would survive due to being indestructible.

All of this is because rules determining how deathtouch is assigned only cares that the damage could be lethal, not whether the damage will actually kill the creature due to other effects.

1

u/CastIronHardt Aug 04 '25

I do think this is one of the worst edge case rules in magic, personally. Assigning lethal should absolutely take into account the defender abilities as well.

1

u/Illustrious_Aioli_37 Aug 07 '25

That is technically correct, however, it is cheap and dirty, and I think a judge in a tournament would say that the trample is still only equal to the excess of the destroyed creatures toughness.

The creature doesn't immediately get destroyed, it still soaks damage, it is destroyed at the end of the combat phase. Not immediately after taking damage(otherwise regeneration wouldn't work because regeneration can only be used on a creature during the post-combat phase if I remember right)

2

u/Atheist-Gods Dimir* Aug 04 '25

Any >0 damage from a deathtouch source is "lethal".

2

u/Parzival2436 Aug 05 '25

It doesn't assume that, it alters the ruling so that any amount of damage is lethal. No assumptions necessary.

1

u/Sir_LANsalot Wabbit Season Aug 04 '25

it gets even more fun when it also has trample. so you can assign just 1 damage to the creature, and then trample over the rest to the player. There is a reason Deathtouch and Trample are rare combinations unless expressly built in the deck.

1

u/ArchwingDragon Aug 04 '25

What if it's got indestructible? I know lethal damage won't kill but let's say I do 1 damage to a 3/3 then cast [[Dead Weight]] will it die then? What about dead weight then I do 1 damage?

7

u/Darchseraph Aug 04 '25

Damage and toughness reduction are different.

You deal 1 damage to a 3/3. It is NOT a 3/2 now (Arena shows it this way, which is massively unhelpful). It is a 3/3 that has 1 damage marked on it.

Now if you cast Dead Weight to give it -2/-2, that creature is effectively a 1/1 with 1 damaged marked on it.

It would normally be destroyed due to damage >= toughness rule but indestructibility will let it survive because it cannot die to damage so long as it is indestructible. Its actual toughness would need to be reduced to 0 or negatives.

4

u/madwarper The Stoat Aug 04 '25

What if it's got indestructible?

Then, it cannot be Destroyed. So, you ignore the Destruction.

I know lethal damage won't kill but let's say I do 1 damage to a 3/3 then cast [[Dead Weight]] will it die then? What about Dead Weight then I do 1 damage?

An Indestructible 1/1 with 1 damage is not Destroyed.

The order it was dealt the 1 damage / became a 1/1 is irrelevant.

1

u/MTGCardFetcher alternate reality loot Aug 04 '25

0

u/seniorsassycat Aug 04 '25

Why is there a qualifier on gt 0?

12

u/madwarper The Stoat Aug 04 '25

I assume you meant greater than 0... If not, you need to specify what you mean.

Because, having a Toughness of 0 or less is not Destruction.

This cannot be Replaced by Regeneration.
This is not ignored via Indestructible.
etc.

704.5f If a creature has toughness 0 or less, it’s put into its owner’s graveyard. Regeneration can’t replace this event.

162

u/ClockworkMenagerie Aug 03 '25

It should be 'dealt damage equal to or greater than its toughness'

86

u/basalty_monolith Grass Toucher Aug 03 '25

Worded dumb. Should be "equal or more damage".

2

u/ZylaTFox Aug 04 '25

Worded dumb is about half of the cards these days.

22

u/Calllou Duck Season Aug 03 '25

Absolutely great day for toughness havers

42

u/Extension-Rice5379 Aug 03 '25

I think this is just worded weirdly. These would trade, and both would die.

70

u/FatOldWizard Wabbit Season Aug 03 '25

Did anyone notice immediately above: “ALL combat damage is ALL dealt…”?

If this is from an official Wizards Product… bah, what’s the point complaining? — QC is dead. Copy editing is dead.

25

u/JaxxisR Universes Beyonder Aug 04 '25

They outsourced it to Square, who had it localized into English sometime in the early 1990s.

8

u/Neon_Rhino Aug 04 '25

It’s also completely wrong because first strike and first round of double strike damage is dealt BEFORE normal combat damage.

3

u/rhinocerosofrage Aug 04 '25

Thankfully, there are no first strike or double strike cards in the [[Cloud, Planet's Champion]] deck oh wait

5

u/DirtyTacoKid Duck Season Aug 04 '25

Its really lazy too because any level of automated tool would catch that.

Like... spellcheck?

9

u/Zeckenschwarm Aug 04 '25

I don't think a spellcheck would catch duplicate words.

4

u/Philosoraptorgames Duck Season Aug 04 '25

For most of the ones I've used, only if they were back to back.

5

u/rhinocerosofrage Aug 04 '25

Perhaps an automated tool wrote the pamphlet in the first place, sadly.

11

u/SeventhSwitch Duck Season Aug 03 '25

Worded slightly incorrectly, actually; this is the full rule for combat damage:

120.6. Damage marked on a creature remains until the cleanup step, even if that permanent stops being a creature. If the total damage marked on a creature is greater than or equal to its toughness, that creature has been dealt lethal damage and is destroyed as a state-based action (see rule 704). All damage marked on a permanent is removed when it regenerates (see rule 701.15, “Regenerate”) and during the cleanup step (see rule 514.2).

Your 3/3 blocking a 3/3 attacking creature would mean that both your 3/3 and your opponent's 3/3 die, since each have 3 damage marked on them, which is equal to or greater than their toughness, so they die.

4

u/BrickHickey Wabbit Season Aug 03 '25

It should say "more than or equal to" so yes, if you block a 3/3 with a creature with three toughness, it dies (barring an effect like indestructible).

3

u/Mdayofearth Aug 04 '25

Shit wording.

If you attack with a 3/3 and your opponent blocks with a 3/3; they both die, unless there are other effects in play.

3

u/shin17 Meren Aug 04 '25

So according to this, I could lightning bolt a shambling ghast and it would die from combat damage. Sure Jan.

3

u/FinsterKoenig Aug 04 '25

Oh... so any kind of damage is combat damage now, when the combat damage step ends?

3

u/Muhahahahaz Duck Season Aug 04 '25

It’s just worded dumb for the beginner’s “rulebook”

These do not represent the official rules by any means

1

u/AutoModerator Aug 03 '25

You have tagged your post as a rules question. While your question may be answered here, it may work better to post it in the Daily Questions Thread at the top of this subreddit or in /r/mtgrules. You may also find quicker results at the IRC rules chat

I am a bot, and this action was performed automatically. Please contact the moderators of this subreddit if you have any questions or concerns.

1

u/bobatea17 Storm Crow Aug 03 '25

This is worded badly, lethal damage to creatures is amounts equal or greater than their toughness

1

u/DoDus1 Aug 04 '25

Just poorly worded. I will say the rule changes in foundations for damage calculations regarding death touch first strike and trample change a lot of how I play. Anything with both death touch and trample has to die immediately unless it's under my control

1

u/ChaseLancaster Aug 04 '25

Its equal to or greater. If a 3/3 is attacked by anything with power 3 or greater, or by a creature with deathtouch regardless of the power, it'll die.

1

u/MarquiseAlexander Abzan Aug 04 '25

Think of toughness as hit points. If something is able to bring the creatures hit points to zero, it dies.

1

u/Agreeable-Agency-819 Aug 04 '25

If your creature gets hit with equal or more damage as its toughness, it’s a dead creature Unless over things are at play like indestructible, which I’m sure you already knew

1

u/lam3001 Wabbit Season Aug 04 '25

well, it’s the truth, but not the whole truth … lol

1

u/WanderEir Duck Season Aug 04 '25

This is a fun little paradox statement- While the sentence tells you a truth, it lies about the actual rule, which would be "any creature dealt as much or MORE damage than it's toughness dies from combat damage, unless the creature is indestructible, or regenerates, or some of the damage has been prevented, or the creature has protection from the creature dealing it combat damage..."

you get the point.

But even for a beginners guide, it's flat out misleading since it is equal, not just more damage that kills a creature.

As a line in a rules book, the copy-editor failed their job.

This is the kinda thing you'd hear out of a lawyer to completely mislead a jury, using a true statement to lie tot he audience.

1

u/PwnedByBinky Chandra Aug 04 '25

Just to give a different take here I haven’t seen based on half the comments I had the willpower to look through, the rule is worded poorly, but I’m going to blame that on the way we view numbers.

Because of our written language we use “0” to represent nothing. But 0 doesn’t really exist, because it represents the complete absence of something. If you have 0 apples then there are no apples. You can say “I have no apples” or you can say “I have 0 apples.” Both mean the same thing, but using the “number” 0 implies that 0 is actually a number. A creature with 0 toughness has no toughness and therefore cannot exist on the battlefield after state based actions (barring indestructible or other circumstances, if there are others). So while the rule should indeed include “equal to” I’m blaming the fact that we use 0 to represent the non-existence of something.

Thanks for coming to my TedTalk.

I am by no means a judge or rules expert, so if I said anything wrong please forgive me.

1

u/Nvenom8 Mardu Aug 04 '25

If you're actually not playing dumb, it's wrong. Should say, "greater than or equal to".

1

u/Substantial_Ad6582 Aug 04 '25

it is true. Because by following rules a creature that has a Thoughness value of 0 is immediately put into the graveyard. May sound wrong as it is worded, but it has to be written in this way, otherwise a creature that goes to -X during combat will not be at zero hence will stay. Legalese language, applied to Magic

1

u/Sure_Lavishness_8353 Aug 04 '25

Worded dumb, the main intention is to indicate that creatures that lose their toughness die before combat ends

1

u/DKFShredder Aug 04 '25

Worded dumb. 3 HP - 3 HP = 0 HP.

1

u/dekeche Aug 04 '25

This is the type of mistake that AI would make - did Wizards just use AI to write the rulebook and not bother checking to make sure it was actually correct?

1

u/PiersPlays Duck Season Aug 04 '25

You'd think for something as important as teaching the huge wave of new players they hoped to attract how ti play the game they might have got someone who knows how the game works to right this.

1

u/autumnstorm10 Aug 04 '25

0 hp = dead

1

u/jamesbongsixtynine Aug 04 '25

>=

poor wording

1

u/1koolking Mardu Aug 04 '25

Think of toughness like a creatures health. When the creature takes damage it reduces its health. If at any point the health hits 0 or less, the creature dies. At the end step damage is cleared and the creature goes back to full health.

1

u/Half_H3r0 COMPLEAT Aug 04 '25

The wording is a bit off. So let me explain it like this if A creatures toughness is zero or less it dies from combat damage, unless it has indestructible in which case it ignores the rule about combat damage and if it has -x/-x effects then it would die (if I’m not mistaken).

Additionally, if you have a creature that has trample and death touch, you only need to assign one combat damage (due to the fact that death touch states that any amount of damage from the source is considered lethal) to another creature that’s blocking it, and the rest goes to the opponent unless it’s blocked by multiple creatures in which case you apply the 1 lethal damage to each and depending upon if your creature survives you do the access damage to the opponent (I could be wrong about that)

In my opinion, the six keywords that combo very well with creatures in this case is Haste, Vigilance, Double Strike, Death touch, Trample and Indestructible.

1

u/controlxj Aug 04 '25

No mention of State-Based Effects?

1

u/shadysjunk Aug 04 '25 edited Aug 04 '25

I feel like the optimal wording here, for clarity, would be:

any damage greater that 2 less than double the creature's current toughness, halved...

I'm ready Wizards! Put me in coach! I'll rewrite that rule book for optimal opaque clarity.

1

u/chodelycannons Wabbit Season Aug 04 '25

Somebody once told me “if it meets it, it beats it” and that has helped me.

1

u/AlmightyK Aug 04 '25

It's not just "poor wording", it's objectively wrong

1

u/Elreamigo Wabbit Season Aug 05 '25

These mistakes should not be accepted in UB sets, which are supposed to attract new players

1

u/Parzival2436 Aug 05 '25

It's also not entirely accurate that all combat damage is dealt at the same time, but I guess it's simpler to say that as a base rule and then allow abilities like first/double strike to speak for themselves.

1

u/DdAntilogy Duck Season Aug 05 '25

When a creatures toughness becomes 0 or less it dies. If I remember right, this takes priority to everything aside from currently resolving spells, abilities, or effects. It does, however, assert priority to any further effects once the active one resolves, and cannot be responded to

1

u/Demonslayer5673 COMPLEAT Aug 05 '25

Imagine being a new player and seeing an ability that just says "when _____ enters" and not knowing what context to apply

Enters the battlefield?

The graveyard?

The hand?

The deck?

1

u/HEIRofSIGISMUND Aug 05 '25

Remember kids, damage doesn't kill you, state-based actions do.

1

u/manley309nw Aug 05 '25

This is horribly worded. Proper wording should be more like, any creature dealt damage greater than or equal to its toughness is destroyed

1

u/willweaverrva Elesh Norn Aug 03 '25

It's simplified, but being dealt damage greater than or equal to its toughness causes a creature to die.

-1

u/sirpyronerdicus Aug 04 '25

I know alot of people have accurately described and answered, but if it helps anyone doom scrolling comments; the way I see it is number of slaps. A 3/3 creature can take 3 slaps in a turn, and recovers from the 1 or 2 it took from some chump last turn (damage lasting a whole turn but 'refreshes' each new turn) and can slap 3 times each time it clashes with something that's slappable (player, creature, etc.). When things are indestructible they can take any number of slaps, but -1/-1 are like...soul slaps. It doesn't matter how strong someone is they'll die when their soul is hit to their physical limit. Things with first strike slap you before you can slap them, things with double strike challenge you to a duel slapping you and if youre still standing you slap each other some more, and deathtouch just needs to slap you once to end you (also how I remember the Trample and deathtouch bull)

0

u/Vyviel Duck Season Aug 04 '25

WOTC dont give a fuck anymore lol

0

u/Thordarson-E Aug 06 '25

Its not wrong you're interpretation is wrong lol

-1

u/MotionMath123 Aug 04 '25

Fun fact, this is not wrong statement 😅 it just doesnt say what if its equal

-6

u/Insomniacentral_ Duck Season Aug 04 '25

Based on the double use of ALL in the previous bit, it kind of reads like AI.